586,104 active members*
3,371 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Seeking advice on machining center purchase.....

Seeking advice on machining center purchase.....

Hello everyone,
    I have been a hobby machinist for many years and have made all manner of interesting parts for motorcycles, air rifles, cars, you name it. In the last two years I have been engaged in a retrofit and the learning process to go CNC finally. I have learned an awful lot and have yet much to learn but I am finding that I have products and customers that want things made enough now that I am considering selling my retrofitted RF45 CNC machine and anteing up for a smaller footprint machining center for my home shop. I have recently undergone a major surgery so my career as a custom cabinet builder has been at least temporarily put on hold due to the weight of cabinets as well as the hazards of breathing the dusts and finishing products of cabinets. I have found that I really enjoy machining with CNC and making interesting products and I have been able to find as I said enough interest in my wares to make a few bucks here or there.

SO right now I am at a crossroads, I can keep what I have here and work to make it everything it can be and live with the comparatively slower rapid speeds of this machine when compared to a more commercial machine as well as the lack of a real toolchanger as well as other features of the more commercial oriented machines. I have looked seriously at several different machines that I would consider small enough to fit my needs and my shop yet large enough to get some real small production work done. My RF45 is an amazing little mill and does everything I ask of it but no manner of money, time or customization will make it a haas or mazak or otherwise.