586,114 active members*
3,359 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Too chicken to try

Hi

I am new with CNC and have a safety / cutting question.

I have been cutting 0.15" aluminum plates on my little CNC, various cuts and shapes from small holes to about a 1" hole using a 1/8" upcut bit.

Now when I cut, I always 'pocket' which takes a lot of time. I have been scared to cut as an example a 1" hole just by just cutting the inside profile since I imagine the left over metal in the center of the hole could catch the cutter and fly off (towards me) at 500 mph. Now is that the case or when cutting a inside profile of a large hole does the left over metal just fall away?

Thanks

that is what plexiglass if for to slow down things like that . get a pice 1/4 thk. from the local hardware store . also the pices have such low mass they don't fly too fare but if caught right they will , no that is with a standard endmill . Inserted tooling can and will make things fly faster . you can slow your feed down to 25-50 % of what your running and the slug will drop .

Make a big hole, like 3/6" at the end of where the cut will be and when it breaks through, there will be nothing to react against.
    The cutter will just push it aside, that is, if where you have been cutting is not full of chips.
    Never let the cutter eat it's own chips, for good cutter life.
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

Quote Originally Posted by a_johnson View Post
    imagine the left over metal in the center of the hole could catch the cutter and fly off (towards me) at 500 mph.

Thanks