586,052 active members*
4,157 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Mori Seiki Machines > Mori Seiki Mills > MAPPS graphics errors and setup questions

MAPPS graphics errors and setup questions

I am new to Mori. I have been trying to use the graphics mode to trace out programs. I finally found the graphics under the CAPS menu. However, I cannot get a program to run through without errors. These are programs that have run hundreds of times on the mill, but will not run through in graphics.

One program in particular will run in graphics until it gets to G36 (bolt circle), and the screen will light up like a spider web and gives me "program error 1". The code works great in the actual machine. What does this error mean?

My next question is how to set the Z work offset using a tool of know length. I thought I could go into MDI and enter G43 H* for the tool I am using, then use that to measure the part directly. However, I can't seem to get it to work, and I have to just enter the machine coordinates into the Z offset and then manually add the length of my gage block and the tool length. Is there a better way? The manual discusses setting X and Y, but neglects Z.

My last question is about the tool offsets. If I enter G43 H* into the control in MDI and press cycle start, the machine will move the distance of the tool length. Is the a parameter I can change to prevent the machine from moving in G43, or G49 or any other tool compensation code? It seem dangerous for the machine to move when executing these codes.

*The machine is not a MAPPS III, it is just a MAPPS. The control says MSG-805 I believe. I think it may be a Mitusbishi control under there. Sorry about the confusion.

Thanks everyone.