586,096 active members*
3,626 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Visual Mill > Visual Mill (as CAD)

Visual Mill (as CAD)

I have just purchased a Novakon NM-200. The machine is supplied with VisualMill.
    The “Getting Started Guide“ contains numerous samples of utilizing existing parts.

However, I am unable to find any samples or instructions on how to design a part from scratch.
    I realize it is a CAM program, but that it does have basic CAD capabilities. For the time being I would like to utilize VisualMill for basic CAD.

Any direction appreciated.
    Thanks, John

If you know how to use autocad, you will figure out the 2D stuff.
    Why not download DraftSight (free) and use it instead?
    www.integratedmechanical.ca

DareBee

Well, thats the second issue. I have no CAD experience.
    I will follow your suggestion but would still appreciate any assistance with CisualMill.

Thanks, John

I can not train someone to use AutoCad on a forum.
    You will have to figure it out or go to night school.
    VisualMill has no training documentation on the Cad.
    Feel free to call MecSoft for training.

DareBee
    I contacted MecSoft last week but so far no response.
    Appreciate your time
    Thanks, John

I can/will help with answers to specific questions but learning a whole software or process really requires proper training.

DareBee
    Agreed. I will be attending further Novakon courses. Just trying to get a head start.
    Also any reference material that might be available would be helpful
    Thanks, John

VisualMill is (nearly) useless as a CAD program. Trust me - save yourself some frustration and learn a real CAD package. Visualmill, while decent as a CAM package, is not capable of anything but he most rudimentary CAD work, and even then it's painful.

BTW I'm an NM-200 owner myself.