586,717 active members*
3,224 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Matrix Plate- A2 or 4140? Newb needing help machining

Matrix Plate- A2 or 4140? Newb needing help machining

Hi all,

I'm a young machinist working for a tungsten carbide tooling manufacturer, and I have my own small Taig mill. I'm looking to make a tooling plate/matrix plate for my mill
    better than anything commercially available, of which I only have seen stuff in Mic-6.

I've done a ton of metals research in the last few weeks for my plate. I need it to be of some grade of high-wear resistant material with good dimensional stability.
    See, I'd like to both spare my anodized table from wear, get all the benefits of a matrix plate, but finally- and the key reason I'm not interested in Mic-6 aluminum tables-
    get an excellent, low wear surface to tram my adjustable Z axis into the tenths range. I cannot do this easily now with the table, and here's the key:

I have current access to full sized manual Bridgeports and precision surface grinding equipment in a class I'm taking at a local college.

I know Mic-6 has excellent dimensional stability and is cheap, but it cannot be precision ground into the tenths range of flatness as steels can by normal methods.
    I have done lathe work on 4140, and I like the stuff. I have not worked with A2 tool steel at all. My class teacher, a very old machinist with ridiculous skills, has told me
    A2 can be drilled and tapped without extraordinary difficulty, but my research leads me to believe it's difficult stuff.

I am looking right now to do 0.750" thick, 5x18" plate, with around 310 or so holes- so material and tool choice is very important. I cannot afford a scrap piece. I can do this
    once. The full sized machines all have DROs available for precise positioning.