586,121 active members*
3,539 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 9 123

My CNC DREAM/NIGHTMARE!

Hello

First off i apologize if this isn't in the right forum/thread area,I'm new to this sight and still trying to find my way way around.
    I like many of you have decided to build my own CNC system,jeeze i thought it was going to be simple,some stepper motors,a control board,a pc and bam! but nooooooooooo! its a lot more complicated as i have found out.
    Ive ran into some major issues that i was wondering and hoping very much you guys could help me with.
    I have settled on the following for my needs
    Nema 34 step motors @ 1269 ozin of holding torque
    Parker Compumotor E-AC series drivers.....
    Parker Compumotor OEM300 AC power module.
    Zent toolworks CNC carver or
    Lumen Lab micRO-Kit......but modified for a custom size/ application.

That's as far as i have gotten,The only Parker compumotor E series is some I found on ebay @159.99 each+ shipping with 34 size motor with 8:1 ratio gear head and electro brake)and E SERIES AC powered driver....i want the DC version but just cant find them anywhere.(mainly cause AC confuses/scares the crap outta me)
    I have been having a very nasty time trying to find a compatible controller board to go with this system as well
    Thats why i have come to this wonderful sight to ask.beg and plead for someone who knows alittle more about what i have selected and what else i may need
    ,i know that i will need break out box for the drivers.
    i will also need a controller board,still looking
    right now i have the Parker Compumotor OEM300 power module chosen to power the drivers,but that in and of itself is confusing me. here are the specs on the engine
    * Size 34 frame
    * Static Torque: 1269.67oz-in. (8.97Nm)
    * Rotor Inertia: 14.8oz-in2 (2.7gc-cm2)
    * Drive Current peak/RMS: Series 3.13/2.21A; parallel 3.8/2.47A
    * Detent Torque: 50oz-in. (0.35Nm)