586,123 active members*
3,454 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Syil Products > Syil X6 Linear spindle speed problem

Syil X6 Linear spindle speed problem

I have just taken delivery of a new X6 Plus linear and I am now on the steep learning curve using Mach3 for the first time.
    I have had a few teething problems mainly down to a dodgy 25 pin socket at the mill end but now all seems to work ok except the spindle speed -
    I program Mach S500 & the machine displays a speed of 700 ? I program S1500 & get 1430. I have trawled this forum for several days & not found the answer so forgive me if this has been covered before.
    I have studied Mach3 spindle configurations but being a newbie I think all seems to be in order. I guess the big clue is that I get no spindle feedback to Mach. Please help.
    Eddie

Sorry to hear of your problems. Makes you wonder if they take any notice of the complaints.

As far as I'm aware, Mach is totally open loop in axis and spindle control. This is why you can't do rigid tapping. I don't know if there is any calibration you can do, but it might end up with you doing a spreadsheet of demand/measured speed to use when programming your parts.

Spindle Speed

Hi Eddie
    The speed you see on the machine is the rpm of the motor, although Mach instructs the machine i.e. S1000 it goes through a PWM system ( Pulse Wave Modulation) where the electronics get a signal back from the motor then try to feed more or less volts to equal the selected speed. But all motors are not exactly the same so you get near enough, i.e. 950 / 1050 it is not a perfect system. On the motor control board are two pots where you can adjust your motor speed, but check with Syil first as they change the boards for each model.
    I have a SX3 and have found it good value for the price, let me know how you get on.

Cheers
    Mike

Hi Mike & Igg1e,

Thank you for your prompt replies.