506,200 active members
2,999 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Is anyone here using 4th and 5th axis programming in SprutCAM?
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2086

    Is anyone here using 4th and 5th axis programming in SprutCAM?

    I am currently using BobCAD for all my CAM needs, and I am very happy with it. It does EVERYTHING I want it to do, and regardless of what other people post about it, it works great. I don't want this thread to become a discussion about BobCAD.

    HOWEVER, BobCAD does NOT support simultaneous 4th and 5th axis machining. I am interested in these capabilities, so that has me looking for a new CAM package. I have seen many videos from SprutCAM, and some other posters that seem very skilled in SprutCAM, making 4th and 5th axis programs.

    Is anyone HERE using these features?

    Any and all feedback on the ease of use, capability, etc. of SprutCAM is welcome.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    360
    Quote Originally Posted by mcphill View Post
    I am currently using BobCAD for all my CAM needs, and I am very happy with it. It does EVERYTHING I want it to do, and regardless of what other people post about it, it works great. I don't want this thread to become a discussion about BobCAD.

    HOWEVER, BobCAD does NOT support simultaneous 4th and 5th axis machining. I am interested in these capabilities, so that has me looking for a new CAM package. I have seen many videos from SprutCAM, and some other posters that seem very skilled in SprutCAM, making 4th and 5th axis programs.

    Is anyone HERE using these features?

    Any and all feedback on the ease of use, capability, etc. of SprutCAM is welcome.
    I have played a bit with 4th axis, and it works pretty well. Others will have more useful feedback.

    I would highly recommend going to sprutcam.com and grab the latest release, and test drive it for the 30 day trial period. It is fully functional, and the examples that it comes with are decent as well.

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2086
    I will certainly get the demo, just need to get some contiguous time at home so I have time to learn it!

    Thanks for the feedback, though.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    318
    I pretty much do everything using my 4th axis and sprut works pretty easily.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    325
    compunerdy,

    Just curious... what sorts of things have you used your 4th axis to do?

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    318
    Everything I do is with cylinders. I have done knurling, engraving, cutouts, etc.. Sprutcam handles the 4th axis really easy and even has copying so if you have a single cutout you can easily duplicate that around the cylinder without doing all the coutouts in CAD.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-23-2011, 09:24 AM
  2. Programming W axis in V21
    By junglist in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-15-2011, 04:17 AM
  3. SprutCAM 4th Axis
    By Magnum164 in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-07-2010, 04:25 AM
  4. Sprutcam and 4th axis
    By RP Designs in forum SprutCAM
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-13-2009, 02:26 AM
  5. 4-axis, 3+2, or 4+ axis programming system?
    By roboticist in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-04-2006, 07:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •