586,119 active members*
3,646 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Mechanical Calculations/Engineering Design > How beefy should a DIY machine be to cut ferrous metal?

How beefy should a DIY machine be to cut ferrous metal?

There are a lot of designs out there. I just saw a listing for a small CNC frame that is sold on ebay with all metal construction. It touts itself as being able to cut wood and non-ferrous metals, and so just isn't rigid enough to cut steel.

I've been fiddling around with my own design, using all steel. I'm not a mechanical engineer, so I have to make-do with what little knowledge I have (use lotsa triangles and make sure the components are arranged so that the steel is strongest where it gets the forces).

I've been using this handy-dandy little applet to do my calcs for me. I'm using 1" hardened rod for the ways, and if the rest of my setup weighs 40 lbs, then I'm only going to get .001 deflection. That's good enough for cutting steel when I'm done, right?

bending applet

Anyway, what's the design threshold between being able to cut steel or not able?

That must be the lightest steel-cutting machine of all time. So either your design is fantastic, or you need more bulk in it.

If that 0.001 is millimeters, yes it's good enough. If it's inches, no it's not good enough. You might be cutting at 0.001 tooth-loading, so your deflection may double the load. Or more, when you add the flexing of the tool itself

Quote Originally Posted by UUU View Post
    If that 0.001 is millimeters, yes it's good enough. If it's inches, no it's not good enough.
    Ha ha .001 of a millimeter is

0.0000394" so it won't be good enough.

Phil

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by UUU View Post
    That must be the lightest steel-cutting machine of all time. So either your design is fantastic, or you need more bulk in it.