586,106 active members*
3,072 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > simplycnc maxi mill for gunsmithing

simplycnc maxi mill for gunsmithing

Hi folks, im new to cnc machining and am in the process of setting up a gunsmithing business.I was wondering if anyone has had any experiances with the maximill from these guys:- www.simplycnc.com and knows if it would be up to making rifle parts ie:- the helical cocking cam on the bolt, and the bolt head, etc ?
    Many thanks
    Kevin

Sieg X3 mill.. good machine, but I have always found it difficult to justify the price for their CNC converted machine, considering the manual machine can be bought in the UK for £800. You could convert one yourself for a great deal less.

Thanks for your reply longrat, do you know who sells sieg x3 mills and if you can buy them already converted to cnc, im just looking for a machine that can produce the above said parts (ill try to attach pics) without paying a fortune for it.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails post-3-97510-bolt.jpg   BatDS4.jpg   jim borden.jpg   Farley1.jpg  

I'm sure those parts could be made on an X3 with the appropriate equipment. The main UK source for the X3, and the cheapest that I know of, is Arc Euro Trade (http://www.arceurotrade.co.uk/). I think some other places may also be selling them on but not sure. If you just need a system running ASAP, I guess the simplycnc setup is not bad, but you could buy the machine for £800 and set it up with big steppers or servos, Gecko drives etc and some decent cam software for considerably less. You might want to do a search and look out for Wabeco machines, I have seen these set up for cnc ready to go for about £4k I think. Beautiful machines, nicer quality than the chinese stuff, good as they are. I think they may be sold by a company called Pro Machine Tools in the UK.