586,032 active members*
2,993 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

PCNC Machine Stand

Hi fellas,
    I am going to purchase the PCNC 770. I would like to use the wooden stand I have for my mill/drill.
    The top is 30" deep and 20" wide. I have attached a photo of the stand.
    I will probably replace the furniture glides for something a bit more vibration isolating. Do you think I should put some heavy gauge steel sheet (11 gauge or so?) on the top surface over the MDF? I'm concerned that I will have problems leveling the machine on the stand (Tram wise, etc.)?

While looking thru the posts here it seems like I saw someone post a photo of their 770 on a wood base. I can't seem to find that now.

I don't think I need liquid cooling, I am just going to use the machine for hobby type stuff, would like to build a 9 cylinder radial engine from Ageless Engines, as well as air powered steam engine models. I am retired now but I was a special product engineer for the last 9 years and have been using SolidWorks for the last 6 years or so. Part of my plan for the radial engine is to model it as I build it.

Thanks for any advice or input you can give, it is appreciated.
    Gerry
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Machine Stand.jpg  

I look at the stand for a nice piece of equipment like I do tires on a vehicle. It is all there is between the machine and the ground. More metal = more weight + more stability and dampening. There are plenty of uses for a stand like yours in a shop besides under a Tormach. You could include it as a feature if you intend to sell your current mill, though you haven't specified the future of your mill.

Hey,

You may refer to the picture of my 770, you can see it here, on post 20:
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/tormac...red_770_a.html