586,068 active members*
4,388 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Laser Engraving and Cutting Machines > Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine General Topics > Which laser cutting machine to go for? Mazak/ Amada/ Trumpf?

Which laser cutting machine to go for? Mazak/ Amada/ Trumpf?

Hi Everyone

I intend to buy a laser cutting machine for job work purposes and need to finalize it this month. Have narrowed it down to 2 machines now:

1. Mazak 2D STX 48 Champion 1.3 kW (Cutting capability: MS - 12 mm)
    2. Amada FOM2 - 2412NT - 2.5kW (Cutting capability: MS - 16 mm)

Both the machines are more or less similarly priced. The third option I have is Trumpf's 3030 basic edition (3.2 kW; Cutting capability: MS - 20 mm). But I will really have to stretch my budget for this one.

I am based in Bombay, India. I have never worked on a laser before and would really appreciate all your inputs to help me decide which one to go for.

Thanks in advance.

Henna.

welcome Henna
    I have direct experience with one of the mentioned machines, and indirect experience with the other two. By that, I mean that I talk frequently with owners of the two other machines. I will have to temper this answer to the opinions I give are from the sum of the experiences as I have encountered.
    The Mazak is an ok machine if it is your first machine and you do not have much of a budget up front. However, it will nickle and dime you to death. It uses up consumables, like nozzles, tips and optics, and the replacements are not as economical as you would like. It requires the most maintenance of the three mentioned.