586,117 active members*
3,434 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

turning in solidcam

I have a demo ver of solidcam. I am looking around to see what suits me best.
    The milling side of things looks nice and easy the turning side is not so or that is my finding.
    I have watched all the solid cam vids on there site but when it comes to the turning when the video starts all the geometrys and operations are allready done and it it not that clear to see what in in the operations lists etc.

Has anyone got a better video or a manual for this cause I would like to give it a fair chance but I have never used this before and was used to alphaCAM.
    Any help would be great thanks

Rik, this is something that I can't help you with at all, but I am interested to learn.

We are getting more and more requests to do turning jobs and the last request is worth several tens of thousands of pounds so we're considering buying a CNC lathe. I'd like to use solicam for the job so I'll need a crash course!

Well I have one of the reps getting back to me at the begining of this week fingers crossed.
    I so far have found solidcam to be a nice program to use but I feel that the turning side of it lets it down quiet a lot.
    I hope my doubts can be put to rest and will share anything I get with you as regard training etc and hope we can in turn help each other out in the future

We use the Turning and Mill/Turn options here and the turning is easy enough to learn but the logic of the SolidCAM pages is very different to the Milling. The definition of tools in the turning side is truly awful but I am told that SC2011 has a lot of 'improvements' in this area so when I get the courage to install SC2011 (certainly no until SP1) I shall report back.