586,036 active members*
3,591 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Recommended tooling for X2 mini-mill
Page 1 of 3 123

Recommended tooling for X2 mini-mill

Hi!!

I'm new to this world, taking a beginning metalworking class at the local community college. Also bought a copy of Machine Shop Essentials by Marlow and I'm working through it.

I just bought a used HF 44991 X2 mini-mill. Shocking to see the coupon for $399 I paid $335 delivered but it did come with the LMS power feed, belt drive and air spring mods and it's in good shape so guess I still did OK.

Anyways, the previous owner kept all his tooling as he was upgrading. I have no collets (maybe the 2 are only included free with the Grizzly version).

I'm aware of the LMS 3489 tool bundle. Having very little knowledge I'm wondering what I need, do I need all this as it's $$$ but I know I need something.

I'm a keen motorcyclist and for right now I'm going to mostly be making small parts (always metric if that matters), out of aluminum, for my bikes. One of the first things I want to try and make is a GPS/chartholder like this. Beyond this, no idea. As I get experience I expect my horizons will widen, perhaps to a larger mill like the [S]X3.

Couple questions:
    1) Does anyone have a similar kit or parts for sale used? If so, please PM me.

2) Any dislikes about the above LMS kit?

3) Would you recommend building up your own kit instead from individual parts, if so, what parts.

4) I guess any other tooling tips or suggestions for a newbie.

Someone suggested I get a 2" self-centering vice as it will make indexing work much easier. Not sure if this was in addition to the vice included in the above kit or instead of.

A few months ago I got a Grizzly G8688 mini-lathe which came with a ton of tooling. Getting tooling with the machine is the way to go but I doubt much other than the dial gauges etc will transfer over to the mill.

Thanks!