586,065 active members*
4,264 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Help me retrofit a lathe with EMC please!

Ok, I am advancing with my retrofit of the lathe portion of a Smithy 1220Xl. The mill portion will be scrapped entirely as it is pretty worthless (and I have a cnc mill already). I really want to use EMC2 but I have to admit that it is probably my single largest source of anxiety for the whole project. I am not a programmer, I have no programming skills and I am most comfortable in the windows environment. I have no Linux experience and everything Linux just looks so foreign to me. I think that this is where I will need the most hand holding.

In terms of experience, this is my second build, the first being a retrofit on a full size CNC mill. I did take the easy way out and went the "kit" route with an AjaxCNC control.

For this build I want to do the whole build from scratch but will also need to try and keep the costs fairly contained, especially considering what the base machine is. My original plan was to try and use a servo for the spindle and to try and incorporate indexing into the spindle for use at a later date. I have seen high speed brushless DC servos that seem like they would be pretty good for the application and cost wise would be pretty competitive with an AC motor and VFD. My biggest concern with this set up is torque and I am just not sure that the servo would have enough torque even with gear reduction.