586,094 active members*
3,900 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Overwhelmed, have many parts... need guidance
Page 1 of 4 123

Overwhelmed, have many parts... need guidance

Hi Guys,

I frequened this forum a couple years ago and collected quite a few parts for my planned machine. I have the following:

Thompson linear rails:
    • 48" X 1" supported X
    • 24" X 3/4" unsupported Y
    • 18" X 3/4" supported Z

Other parts:
    • 3 servo motors 360 oz/in with encoders
    • Lots of plate aluminum and some extruded
    • Computer
    • Router

I'm tired of seeing all this equipment sitting in a pile, I either have to finish this project I started over a year ago or sell the parts. I'm intimidated by the power supply, drive boards, mounting the servos in the best configuration, and finding the correct linear screws. I'm no electrician but can assemble from plans and solder quite well. I'm suffering from information overload and procrastination. Could someone please show me the light? I'm trying to figure out how much it will cost me to get all the parts needed. From what I can remember I will need the following:

• 3 linear screws
    • power supply
    • drive boards
    • software

I'd really appreciate pointers, suggestions, condolences... whatever you can offer that might get me out of this funk. I'd prefer to finish the project rather than sell the parts. Of course I'm kinda tight on funds as well so any cost savings ideas would be wonderful. I was considering Gecko drives back when I started collecting parts. Is there a less expensive alternative? I'm really trying to keep the costs down to finish but understand that might be futile.

Thanks.

Darren

Hi Daren,

I can't help with the linear Screws but here's a Link to Phils Electronics Site.

http://pminmo.com/

Its great for the electronics do it yourselfer.