586,104 active members*
3,403 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Some questions on Momus CNC Design

Bob,

I purchased your plans about a week or so ago based on your videos and the good reception the plans have gotten. So far, it looks really good.

I do have a couple of questions though. I should preface these with the fact that I'm an Aerospace Engineer by training and cannot just leave well enough alone (though not well versed in CNC). I'm also cheap to a fault.

Why all the counterbores? It appears your just putting studs in most, if not all, and it appears to be redundant making the builder have to jig up for counterbores unnecessarily.

Also, why the use of all-thread in many areas where there are acceptable bolt alternatives? All thread is great for the very long rods, but many other places look like good candidates for common fasteners. You can change a stud and nut out for just a bolt.

I'm currently looking through the design looking for a bit of cost savings in the aluminum and steel parts. Whether that is buy using alternate materials or by combining parts, I don't know. But since metal is pretty much bought by the pound, combining parts, provided the overall dimiensions don't change, would likely not result in cost savings and may result in more waste material anyway. But, I'm going to try.

Just trying to understand how these approximately 200 parts go together...

Thanks,

Michael

Hi Michael,