586,069 active members*
3,402 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Ok all you smart guys!! lol need some help! Refurb !!!!

Ok all you smart guys!! lol need some help! Refurb !!!!

Ok, I have a great looking machine in the back of my shop and want to refurb it with new controllers. I am going to post pics and could everyone please take a look and give me your thoughts. This should be fun!

Dan Jordan

p.s. I have an Electronics Degree and another in Computer science, so your not dealing with an idiot. Just thought i'd add that for those of you that wonder if i can handle it.

Ok, the machine has not been used over 4 years. It is about 15-17 years old i think. It has no manufacturer sticker or serial label. It has custom boards with handwritten software ver. info on each e-prom. I do not know what motors or pretty much anything about it. Hopefully the motors and everything else is good and I can just update it. The table is built really well. Here are the pics.

table-full | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

motors | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

side-image | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

One of the motors is a VEXTA 2 phase bipolar stepper, so that is all good but the other i can not see the sticker. Get some more close up pictures of it and other parts especially the moving parts.
    There is a belt there that goes from one side to the other and i can not figure out what it does from the pic, so more pictures.
    Generally it looks like something that is easy to modify with minimum effort just check the rails for rust or bending before you plug it in.
    Regards,
    Tom

P.S.
    Welcome to the club as far as electronic and computer hardware is concerned, but i am also good with mechanics and cars and..... never-mind!!!!!