586,075 active members*
4,155 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

chinese laser on US electrical system ...

Just a question about power supply for a laser engraver , the manufacturer states that it should have an electrical source of

220V/50Hz/ 20AMP

How do I connect that to the residential electrical system in the USA ?

can I use the Double pole breaker in my electrical panel to provide 240V / 60Hz ?
    (Im not an electrician , just have a basic knowledge)
    Would that work ? Do I have any other options ?

Apprecieata your input.

Thank you

V

Most imported equipment have a ±10% supply tolerance so if they are referring to 1 phase then your 240v double pole breaker should work, it may pay to check with them if there is any sensitivity between operating 50/60hz.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    Most imported equipment have a ±10% supply tolerance so if they are referring to 1 phase then your 240v double pole breaker should work, it may pay to check with them if there is any sensitivity between operating 50/60hz.
    Al.
    Thanks for the quick answer , how do I connect the wires though ?

from the double pole breaker Ive got 2x 110v + 1 ground on the other side Ive got 220v neutreal and ground.

Quote Originally Posted by vee1982 View Post
    on the other side Ive got 220v neutreal and ground.
    This usually refers to European and Australian type supply where one side of the 220 is grounded neutral.
    So you would just connect the 1 ph 240v to from your breaker, also run a ground wire.
    You should not need a neutral in this case.
    Al.

Albert E.

Well I still don't get it.
    out of the double pole I have got 2 conductors that read 110v each and the ground wire. So do I connect

110v-220v
    110v-neutral
    ground-ground

?

Thanks