586,089 active members*
3,800 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Tools / Tooling Technology > CNC Tooling > 17-4 SS, 316SS, G5 TI Milling speeds??

17-4 SS, 316SS, G5 TI Milling speeds??

I am fairly new to machining these materials. I currently cut with TiALN carbide end mills. When programing i run spindle speeds at 1000 with a 1/2 EM, feed rate at 3. ipm. It seems to work ok. Does this sound like normal speeds?? If anyone has experience with this i would apprieciate some help.

Talking End Mill Feeds & Speeds

Travis,

There are many variables that come into play when trying to obtain the best feed & speed for a certain tool.

Tool effective set length
    Toll holder used, collet, solid, shrinker
    Machine rigidity
    Part rigidity in holding device
    Coolant, oil or water soluable or dry
    Tool type used

Is the end mill you are using a varible flute?
    Who is the maker, what is the tool #, what is the corner radius?
    How is it setup?

I am cutting 15-5 SS. I am able to run a 1/2" Hanita, TiALN coated, 4-flute varible flute end mill with .030 R, set 2.0" out of a shrink-fit holder at 2500 rpm @ 10 ipm. I am using Hangsterfers Hard Cut 5418 oil as coolant.

1000 rpm @ 3 ipm is kind of slow depending on the depth of your cut and the finish & dimentional requirements.

A good way to help in better determining what your best fit varibles are for your current conditions is to make a bunch of test cuts on a some test material if you have some available to cut on.

Tool harmonics can greatly effect tool life & your cutting results. Don't be afraid to experiment with different feeds & speeds if you have the time, tooling & material to test with.

Even if I was cutting the exact same material as you, it would not mean that my feeds & speeds would work under the conditions you are working with.

Remember, the more detailed you are in your questions, the better we are able to help answer you.

Keep on milling.

Kenny