586,103 active members*
2,767 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Slinger's G0704

This thread will serve to document the conversion of my G0704. I am a complete newbie, and I will ask a number of very stupid questions along the way.

I decided on the G0704 after months of perusing through this forum. Of course, it was Hoss's build thread that convinced me that the G0704 was just what I was looking for.

I ordered my machine from Grizzly 23 April 2011. I am one of the lucky ones that will not have to wait too long, as my machine is scheduled to be delivered on 14 June 2011!

What have I done so far?

I started by making room for my mill in my home office. The office is a 12'x10' bedroom. It's a vaulted room with a 12' ceiling. I am hoping to be able to make use of the abundant vertical space to keep things organized. I spend the whole day in this room while working my day job (Software Engineer), so I plan to keep the workspace clean.

I am happy to house the mill in an air-conditioned room, especially since I live in the Southern Arizona. The downside is that my office borders my children's bedrooms. I will have to keep things quiet in the evenings. Since this is a hobby, I can deal with the constraint, but I expect I will want to mitigate sound as much as possible. Perhaps I will add acoustic suppression to the walls or ceilings at some point.

I decided to remove the carpet and install Epoxy-Coat. I figured this would aid in easy cleanup and give the office a functional, industrial look. I spent an entire week moving furniture, ripping out carpet, ripping out carpet padding, ripping out carpet tack strips, diamond grinding the floor surface, patching the concrete gouges, washing the concrete, acid etching the concrete, and waiting the required time in between steps (and duplicating steps when necessary). This was the preparation required prior to applying the Epoxy-Coat.