586,119 active members*
3,761 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Not on Zero anymore..

Ok Im a newbie and just got my first major (to me) issure today. I had everything working great for 65 parts then reset the bar puller for a few extra parts, the puller pulled the end stub out and the machine went on and cycled around, puller slammed the peice into the collet (3J style) and the machine turned off. Normally this isnt a problem, I just turn the machine off then on cause its in "emergency mode" and contunue on. This time is differnet, I was away for 30-40 mins before I realized this and now after I reset teh machine, all the tools are off .175" and the drills too. I can offset it to compensate but I want to fix the problem and not work around it. Its a brand new Doosan 220L with less than 300 hours. I was told teh tool holder (turrent) could be jarred and to loosen up teh bolts and realign it with a micro-indicator. Does this sound right? Is it something a guy with common sense can do or hire a repair man? Please help!

The turret has spun so to speak, not sure on your machine but there should be 4-8 bolts on the face of the turret and 2 tapered pins.
    pull pins with slide hammer loosen bolts, indicate turret back in with a ID tool and Indicator in collet. put NEW pins in tighten bolts and let her rip.

Also cause you said the magic words (CRASH) your head stock could have been pushed to one side or the other. but in big dia long bar run inidator in Z axis ( indicator mounted to turrett) to see if head stock is square.

Turret fix is usually about 10-20 mins first time 30 mins to hour. tapered pins can be bought or made DO NOT USE STAINLESS mild steel ONLY as they are meant to shear or break so that doesnt damage the geneva drive.
    you can run with out pins however if you cut large OD pcs or heavy cuts it will slip.

Delw

SPELL CHECKER

Dick Z
    DZASTR