586,060 active members*
4,228 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Mini Lathe > Newbie: vertical column Cnc conversion

Unhappy Newbie: vertical column Cnc conversion

I would like to install Cnc contol on the vertical axis of my sherline mill which I use as a tool grinder. The vertical movement advances the tool blank onto the grinding wheel. I am doing it by hand right now, but would like to automate it. One very important aspect is that I need the feed to be super slow, about 1/2 of a revolution per minute or even slower than that to allow the grinding wheel to remove the material in time. I am totally new to Cnc so i have no idea if any cnc stepper motor is capable of achieving this speed of feed or if I need something special, perhaps a reduction gear? I looked at the conversion kits and controllers that sherline offers for their machines, but their slowest speed is 1" per minute which is 20 rpm instead of 1/2. Would appreciate any advice anyone can offer.

Steppers as their name implies have steps, you can't really accurately move less than one step. Some controllers have "microsteps" but they are more about smooth motion than actual steps.

So about the minimum you can move is ~1/200th of a turn, there ought to be nothing to stop you doing that very infrequently, but the 1 inch / minute might be a limitation of the controller software.

As far as I can see EMC has no issues trying to move the axis at 0.02 inches a minute, I haven't tried it on my mill.

It's also possible that the steppers don't have enough torque or might stall at that speed, but I have no expertise here.

Thank you for the reply. I will ask sherline if it is just the limitation of their controller, or the motor. Meanwhile, is there a chance you can try to replicate such a slow motion on your mill, if it is similar to sherline and if you have a chance. And let me know. Would much appreciate your further input. Thank you.