586,055 active members*
4,324 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Need help wiring up my controller box....

Need help wiring up my controller box....

I built a box to house my power supply and gecko drive. I was in the process of trying to figure out how to wire everything up.
    I chopped off a grounded cord of an old power bar to run to the power supply.

I found some basic images of power supplies, I just want to make sure I get this hooked up right. I have very little knowledge of electrical and testing.

The grounded plug has blk,wht, and grn wires. Which hooks to what on the power supply?

Also, I was browsing the forums and some people mention putting in an on/off switch as well to reduce electrical surge..?

Do I need a switch as well? I was just going to hook the cord straight to power supply and just plug it in to be "on"...is this a big no no.

What kind of switch and how do I wire this in? pictures or schematics would be very helpful.

Also wiring limit switches, I have two for each axis. I've seen the schematic on gecko's site but it only shows one switch in the schematic. To wire the other in a series, I'm assuming instead of the wire going to the ground it would go to the other switch first and then that one to the ground correct?
    Again, pictures and schematics would be helpful.

I'm sure i'll have many more questions as well once I actually have proper power and wiring hooked up, like mach setups etc.
    I have cables to run from the steppers to the gecko drive already. This is a machine from xzero.

Help much appreciated,
    Jeff

White neutral, black hot, green Earth ground.
    It pays to at least mount a local breaker/disconnect on the panel.
    Ideally you would fit a contactor or heavy duty relay to drop the AC out to the drive and power supply when an E-stop occurs, the PC would be kept live.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design