586,061 active members*
4,602 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Feed & Speed Questions..

Hello, I am David from New York and this is my 1st post. Not sure if I have in correct place in Forum. I am in between jobs here and soon moving to a better location for work. I have CNC Machine Trades School behind me in 2001 and, went 6 years before I gained employment in the field. I have 2 3/4 years experience working on HAAS 3 axis Vertical and EC400 Horizontal mills. I have a long way to go and much to learn.

My school did not teach or have CNC lathes so I am weak in that area. I have been a operator of a few lathes. I love the field of work and hope to return to a good shop soon. Wish I could serve a apprenticeship. With that said, I will get to bothering someone with my first questions here..

OK..of great interest and help to me would be a few examples of usage of the 3.82 constant for calculating speeds and feeds for various cutters. In my trade school, we learned a method more used on manual machine tools and is not so helpful on CNC's. I would like to be brought up to speed on a few different end mills, high speed and carbide, 4 and 5 flute, maybe use of the constant for a drill, a tap..a few examples.

I will just go ahead and post this, if it is not allowed here perhaps a Mod will instruct me or move to correct area. Thank you and, I am pleased to be part of CNC Zone, even if I am a newbie.

OK Thanks just the same folks. I will find another sorce for learning the use of the constant.

see if you can find a Feed and Speeed Calculator. most tooling companies have them like sumitomo, valenite, iscar , etc.. they take the guess work out of setting feeds and speeds for cnc's. i use one from valenite and from iscar.

Thank you bobo17, I will look them up. I really need to get updated on these as I was taught the old method which more applies to manual machines.