586,100 active members*
2,805 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Events, Product Announcements Etc > Want To Buy...Need help! > Need Help Choosing a Stepper, Driver, and Contorller Kit

Need Help Choosing a Stepper, Driver, and Contorller Kit

Hey everyone,

I'm just getting into the CNC world and am just about ready to build my first 3 axis Router, but I'm having a hard time choosing a kit with steppers and drivers with the breakout board and power supply. I have looked at a few like the ones from probotix. My main question is what kit would work best for my 40x30x5 machine that uses a wood router.

Any help or advice on anything cnc is greatly apreciated.

Thanks in advance

collect more information, you will get more experiences. We have Yako driver and Chinese good stepper motor.

Hi, I'm also just starting out, I've done a fair bit of research and I'm pretty confident I'm going to get it all sorted out, but first I want to plan it all well. HobbyCNC | CNC for the desktop machinist and hobbyist. is run by a guy called dave I think; that's where I plan to get my driver board from at least. The one you will typically get off ebay suffer from missed steps, and as such you won't get too much in the way of accuracy from your machine.

What software are you planning on using? I'm a student so everything is as cheap as I can make it, so the emc project from LinuxCNC.org - Home is my way to go being free and all.

From waht I could tell about probotix, they seemed rather overpriced. hobby cnc and emc have fairly good reputations on cnczone. Of course the hobby cnc driver has it's problems what with being only unipolar drive. www.easy-cnc.com * Your best option in driver boards for CNC machines had a cheap bipolar board which I may use, but I wasn't able to confirm it's reputation... (Unipolar gives a lower torque than the bipolar modes of operation, as you're going to be using wood, shouldn't be too much of a problem.)