586,281 active members*
4,374 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Tools / Tooling Technology > CNC Tooling > lost on how to go about tooling on project

lost on how to go about tooling on project

hi,

i have a friend that would like me to create a heat sink for him,

the profile looks like that
    im a hobby machinist that over the years only done simple parts, i know i can create the code for this easy enough but where im getting lost at is the wavy profile, is there already a tool that would help me achieve this?

any and all help is appreciated.

You'll need something with an offset

to create undercuts like that. Picture a shaft with a larger ball on the end. These are commonly made for grinders, although I haven't seen them with the sparser flutes generally used for endmills.

Another way you could get this effect is by tilting the workpiece after cutting the ridges, so that you can access the sides with a ball-nosed (but not offset) cutter. But you'd have to do this twice, and it would be hard to maintain registration.

A third way to go would be to have a special form tool made, with the profile of the side of the ridges ground into its edge. This will cost some money, but this guy doesn't think he's getting this odd job done cheap, does he?

Andrew Werby
    ComputerSculpture.com — Home Page for Discount Hardware & Software

Quote Originally Posted by johnnyr View Post
    hi,

i have a friend that would like me to create a heat sink for him,

the profile looks like that
    im a hobby machinist that over the years only done simple parts, i know i can create the code for this easy enough but where im getting lost at is the wavy profile, is there already a tool that would help me achieve this?

any and all help is appreciated.