586,103 active members*
3,708 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Unidentified controller

Hello everybody!

I’ve been lurking around these forums for a while now but today I need some help figuring this out.

I'm a PHD student, and I’m working on a rapid prototyping project. I’m on a budget of zero, which means that I have to borrow equipment until I can ask for funding.

I recently borrowed a sherline 5410 from a professor who had it gathering dust in a corner. The machine already has stepper motors and a matching controller. But he was not able to provide software or any information on the controller and it doesn’t appear to have any indentifying markings of any kind.

So I need some help identifying the controller so I can set it up. I am not sure what software to use with it yet, but I figure Mach3 would be a good place to start.

I’ve attached images of the controller in question.

I appreciate any leads or thoughts you might have.

Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails controller-image-01.jpg   controller-image-02.jpg  

This controller is still a bit of a mystery, i did some more digging around and found a manufacturer and version number for the boards (there are 2 boards in the controller, pic attached), googling did not yield results.

I've also been able to get the X Y Z axis moving on Mach3 using the Max NC-10 wave drive setting.
    However it has not been possible to get the A axis moving or any response from the spindle output.

I’m wondering if anyone here has come across a similar controller or knows anything about it.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails controller-image-03.jpg