586,655 active members*
3,171 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question RF45 overall stiffness

I bought the RF45 mill about two years ago from Wholesale Tool.

I'm largely self-taught as far as machining goes and I never had the advantage of working in a machine shop, so I can't tell you how good this mill is because I have nothing to compare it to. My machine has probably clocked a total of about 24 hours now, drilling or milling. This is my first serious machine tool.

I've dreamed about CNCing this and have done quite a bit of research along those lines, but would rather get some more experience under my belt. Automating the Z seems like it would be a bear.

I've had none of the leaks or bearing problems some people have reported. I just use plain non-detergent oil in the gearbox.

I've realized of late this mill is always marketed as a "mill/drill", not so much a "milling machine". The subtext I suspect is: "Sure you can mill with this machine in some cases, but if you can't you can at least use it for drilling."

Let me tell you why I am of that suspicion. I find steel much cheaper and easier to weld than aluminum so I fab a lot of my creations from steel.

If I clamp some 1/4 inch mild steel plate to the table and try to edge mill off 1/10 inch with a roughing end mill, and put my hand on the table, I feel almost no vibration. Good. But, if I put my hand on the head there is definitely vibration. Now is the head oscillating 1/32" in either direction? No. But I definitely feel vibration.

Now that I think of it I should have applied the same test to the column. I will follow up on that.