586,103 active members*
3,484 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Gecko 540 to drive nema 17s ???

Gecko 540 to drive nema 17s ???

Hi everyone,

Noob here. I have a Zenbot 6x8 mini bench-top router that had one of it's axis on the driver board go out. I've been thinking about upgrading to a drive with a 4th axis and everyone seems to love the gecko 540. I don't mind spending extra to get quality, but I don't want to over pay for overkill. The motors are 75 oz/in Bipolar Nema-17 1.8 degrees/step 2.0 Amps 4-wire. I know I can get the individual drives and build up a system that way, but I really am looking for as PnP as possible. Will this drive work, or is it overkill and will I need to look for another solution?

I wish the Zenbot guys would have used the 23's on this machine. End of story.

Just not a bunch of info for the 17s, well, not spoon-fed for this noob.

Thanks, any help would be much appreciated.

Russ

Nevermind

Found the info on the Gecko site, duh. I must say, it wasn't the easiest info to find, but I did. BTW yes, the 540 can drive the 17's. I's be ready to blast, now.
    Russ Greene
    New England Brownstone

Hi Russ --

Quote Originally Posted by NE Brownstone View Post
    Found the info on the Gecko site, duh. I must say, it wasn't the easiest info to find, but I did. BTW yes, the 540 can drive the 17's. I's be ready to blast, now.
    Great! I'm glad you got the information needed. I don't know if you have made up your mind to go ahead with this or not yet, but I will be interested in your experiences and any discoveries ...if you do.

--Rich

Hi Jim,