586,106 active members*
3,062 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Questions aboutscrew machines

I have been machining for many years, both manual and cnc(VMC & bar feed lathe). However, never a screw machine. The shop I am in now is bringing in formerly out sourced parts and I feel they should be done on a screw machine. Most all parts are small and lot sizes run from 1,000 to 50,000 parts. My qustions are .....are these machines very hard to program and do you use normal software such as SurfCam or is there a particular software just for screw machines. Lastly,what is a good, reliable and affordable machine?

I used to work for the Tsugami dealer, but I can't help with software. I will tell you to buy a Citizen. The Stars seem to be ok as well, and the Tsugamis were ok to, but I always told great things about the Citizens from my customers.

Difficulty programming and complexity of the part to be made go hand in hand. I program our Citizen by hand, but there are supposed to be some decent software packages out there. I am not sure of their names...Maybe someone else can pipe up and spit some out...

Like your shop, our shop has CNC lathe and mill equipment. I found the foundations to be the same, for example, if you understand G/M code and have a pretty good idea what needs to go into the part to make it, it's not all that different.

On the other hand, it's the details that count:

Remember that you would be completing the part on one machine now, not 2, 3, or more. Setup times will be much longer. Jobs that I normally setup in our lathe for one op and then mill for a second op, may take 1/2 hour to 1 hour each setup while the swiss typically will take me 4 to 5 hours.