586,117 active members*
3,505 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Turning mill to CNC machine?
Page 1 of 3 123

Turning mill to CNC machine?

I was asking help for CNC machine and were directed to here. Here is my original question:

First of all, I'm total noob.

I've decided to get small CNC machine for myself because ordering few small parts from machinist shop costs as much as the cheappest CNC Machines (500€) and I would always have to wait for at least a week to get the parts.

I need a machine that can work with aluminium, has precision of +-0,1mm and can do shapes at least around 150x150x50mm.

Since I'm noob, I would like to get a kit that has everything (software not required, I can buy it sepetarely after testing different ones).

I'm experienced in 3D product drawing with AutoCAD. Will the CNC software be hard to learn to use?

Cheaper the machine the better. I've been looking this for example: Zen Toolworks

Any help is appreciated
    Here's latest parts I've desinged that needs to get done so you get some idea what I'm doing with the machine:

http://i.imgur.com/Vfdbu.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/ioi0H.jpg

Is mill converted to CNC machine best way to go and are there easy noob friendly ways to build one?

thats like 700 usd. ummmm good luck with that is all ill say, you would spend over half that just buying the minimum tooling needed to get going

just looked at that machine. good luck trying to make those parts on that. not the type of machine for the job you are trying to do

Well, can you suggest what I should get?

for that price, nothing, sorry

Quote Originally Posted by jeremy0203 View Post
    for that price, nothing, sorry
    I'm looking for cheapest machine that can make parts I need. I didn't say that price is what I can pay. That was just cheapest full CNC machine I found.

you can see if you can find an x2 equivalent and buy a cnc conversion kit for it.