586,069 active members*
3,634 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

continuous macro operation

Hi all,

I'm new to FANUC macro programming and wondered wether it is possible to keep a macro running in the background, whilst other NC code is being executed?
    What comes closest for me, is to call the macro at every speed changing command, but it's still not exactly what I need.

Does any one know, wether the C language executor can do that? I haven't found a lot of information about it, so I'm not sure what the differences are except using another language.

Thanks a lot for your help!!

Macro calculations do continue in advance while the preceding NC statement is being executed.

Look up info on 'realtime' macro commands, they may suffice - sorry, never used them myself...everytime I try to get my head around them all the Zs make me feel tired :tired:

DP

what are real-time commands? i have the book fanuc cnc custrom macros from peter smid. it has got a few years on its back, so i'm not sure wether it's too old, but i can't find any info in it.

are there any good resources on fanuc macro programming? because also on the net, i couldn't find any.

From what I can gather you can use them to interrupt current cycle when a condition is met (don't ask me what the typical use is, but from the examples my guess is probing). The format seems to involve a //Z before the normal phrases, with a distinct notation for the RTM variables used.

Hopefully, someone else can chip in who has actually used them...I don't know how extensively they are used, I only know they are mentioned in my 31i manual.

DP

It might help for us to know ..... What do you need the macro to run while code is running? What is the macro tracking?
    It's just a part..... cutter still goes round and round....

WHILE

Can you use the while command and program a while for each condition you might need in a program?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Fanuc while statement.JPG