586,656 active members*
3,487 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Is it possible to make your own round spline broach?

Is it possible to make your own round spline broach?

Hi all, I am wondering if it is possible to make a round spline broach. The broach is to form an inner spline on a brass gear approximately 20mm thick (still working on the finer points).
    Gears will need 3 splines (equal spacing) with a max diameter of around 14mm with a tooth depth around 3 to 5mm.

I am planning to attempt to build my own prototypes (2), each unit will have approximately 8 gears to suit this spline size, so I am just trying to find the cheapest way to produce the gears I need, and though I am not sure what a professionally made broach would cost, I am sure it would not be cheap.

If it is possible to turn or cnc one, Just how would you do it?
    What would be the best steel?
    How would you harden it?

I have no experience with machining on a lathe or CNC mill, but am in the processes of buying both so I can attempt to build the prototypes.

I am also in the process of either building a furnace for alloy casting or buying a kiln. Since learning more about the processes that I will need to undertake, I am leaning towards a kiln for a more controlled heat, any thoughts.
    Regards
    Eddie

It looks like you will putting together a pretty capable workshop.

Since you are making a limited number of gears in a soft-ish material, you might be able to get away with taking one of the shafts, cutting it square at the splines and and undercutting the splines with a dremel or something of the sort. You would want to have inner diameter of the gears cut to size as well as removing as much of the material from inside the splines as possible. This will reduce the stress on the cutter.

See what Frank Ford did here to make a bit for his rotary broach. HomeShopTech