586,077 active members*
3,591 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Beginner needing help

Hi All,

I'm just begining to get into hobby CNC routering but am a complete novice.
    I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction.

I am after a machine that I can use at home, a reasonable size working table (600mm width) and software that is compatable with Adobe Illustrator.
    The primary use of the machine will be to cut shapes / letters into 3 - 18 mm MDF.

I have been looking at entry level machines on ebay as well as Carbatec Shark Pro plus but at $6000 is a lot of money for a novice.

I am in desperate need of help as I dont want to make a costly mistake.

I currently router all my shapes by hand but it is a time consuming / messy affair, hence the change of direction.

Any assitance would be appreciated.

Thanks

600mm cutting width is probably a bit of an issue, it pushes you up into the heavier capacity range of machines, all of which won't leave you much change out of $3500-$6000, for a fairly good one that is.

I'd have a think about what it is your trying to cut, and especially as your starting out then see if one of the cheap Chinese 3040 or 6040 machines would do? They will come with a crap controller most likely (search the forums for tb6560), so I'd recommend buying a Gecko G540 on top of the machine to really get some good performance out of it and just increase the overall reliability. The $300 the G540 costs might seem a lot, but it truly is an investment you'll appreciate almost immediately!