586,106 active members*
3,064 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Entry level paper cutter

I am completely new to laser cutters and not very technical.

I have seen a couple on eBay but have no idea of their capabilities and if there are hidden costs or extras to buy before I could actually use it.
    USB CO2 LASER ENGRAVING CUTTING MACHINE ENGRAVER/NEW e1 | eBay
    New 40W Desktop CO2 Laser Engraver Cutter 210x205mm+FREE HONEYCOMB BED+Newlydraw | eBay

I have also seen a slightly more expensive one shipped from the UK but my research seems to suggest they are not that reliable. Is it that much more for an extra £500?

LS3020 pro Desktop laser engraving and cutting machine laser engraving and cutting machine with software [LS3020 pro] - £1,125.00 : laser engraving machines laser cutting machines, HPC laser LTD

I am looking for an entry level laser cutter for fairly complex pattern cutting cards and invitations, A5ish size and probably no thicker than 400gsm card.

I really want to own a machine so i can create numerous samples - as the cost to outsource individual samples is too much - but it would be great if it could also do a run of 50 - 100.

How accurate would a machine of this standard be and how complex cut outs would is handle? Also is there any problem with burn marks?

Also I'm not sure what software I would need to use, I would usually work with jpg and ai files (on a mac or pc).

Any advice on this and /or the ongoing running costs and lifespan of a machine so I can work out if it's cost effective for me.

Quote Originally Posted by TLSH View Post
    I am completely new to laser cutters and not very technical.

I have seen a couple on eBay but have no idea of their capabilities and if there are hidden costs or extras to buy before I could actually use it.
    USB CO2 LASER ENGRAVING CUTTING MACHINE ENGRAVER/NEW e1 | eBay
    New 40W Desktop CO2 Laser Engraver Cutter 210x205mm+FREE HONEYCOMB BED+Newlydraw | eBay