586,106 active members*
3,064 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Need help designing 2' x 6' router for ski/snowboard construction

Need help designing 2' x 6' router for ski/snowboard construction

Hey guys,

I am new to CNC routers, but I have been doing a lot of research lately, and received a lot of great info from this site. I just finished up school, and I am starting a small custom ski and snowboard manufacturing company based in Lake Tahoe. I just received some initial R&D funding to create my CNC router, pneumatic press and produce some prototypes. I have taken autocad and solidworks classes, and am looking to build a high quality cnc router to produce the parts I have designed.

The primary use for this router will be cutting out the outline of ski/boards and creating the thickness profile of my wood/bamboo cores as well as some UHMW plastic pieces that are used for the sidewall/tip/tail construction. However, I would like to make the machine as versatile as possible, and will be using it to create more CNC routers and parts in the future. I would like it to be able to machine aluminum, and will probably fabricate a plasma cutter attachment for it at some point down the line.

I am looking to build the machine with a cutting area of approximately (slightly more than) 2' x 6'. I have a budget for the build of approximately $2000 for the machine and electronics (I already have a windows xp computer with parallel port, autocad, solidworks, bobcad/cam and Mach3). I have a full shop at my disposal and am an accomplished MIG welder. I am on a bit of a time crunch and need to have a working machine within 2 months. Here’s a basic overview of my plans so far:

Spindle: Bosch 1617EVS 2.25hp variable speed router

Z AXIS: K2 CNC's 5" travel z axis assembly and 3.5" router mount:
    K2 CNC Router 5" Linear Slide Actuator - ZA500QR Z Axis- Nema 23/34 motor mount | eBay