586,106 active members*
3,327 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Extrusion cost

Guys,

I'm considering an extrusion in place of a casting for an application I have in mind.
    Being a noob, I have no idea how much an extrusion would cost to commision.
    My guess is that it would be b***dy expensive to do and I should just go for sand castings.
    Some time ago I requested info from an extrusion supplier here (Australia) and described the cross-section to him but

he said nobody in Aus could do this complex shape.
    Ignore the dims, the whole section should fit within a 200mm die with wall around 5-6mm thick if possible.

Thanks!!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails extrusion-part6.jpg  

it will depend on how many 10's of thousands of feet you're ordering I'd guess you're right about the die and there'd be large minimum quantities involved. Never done it, but been through extrusion plants - doesn't look like a low volume proposition but i may be wrong - find a company that does extrusions and ask them - what are min quantity & set up costs? looks like a tought part to cast - lots of thin walls and special cores required.

Extrusion is actually not all that expensive. I hope to have many of my production parts extruded instead of laser cut within the next 2 years (need more volume to make it work for me).

You can get as little as 500 pounds extruded and anodized for about $2.65 per pound (***price as of ealier this year***) - not bad at all. Die costs are not all that bad, either. Most places want to extrude a minimum of 1000 pounds, though, so you have to poke around a little to find a smaller place if you can't use 1000 pounds of your profile.