586,119 active members*
3,586 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

newbie questions

Hey Guys
    I have a small home based machine shop and I'm interested in getting into plasma cutting.I've seen a new 2 X 4 plasmacam goes around $7K is that typical with other machines? I thought I saw an ad for torchmate for appx $4K but I can't be sure.Also where do you usually find work for these machines? I can think of alot of custom stuff but I'd like to find some steady work so it pays for itself.Thanks for any info :bat:

New Also

I'm new to Torchmate myself and will have a few questions. Since this purchase was for a college Manufacturing Center, I bought through a third party, and had them set it up. Frankly, this process has dragged a bit, but for my application it is probably best.
    We bought the 4x4 unit, no water table, automatic height adjustment using a Hypotherm Powermax 65 plasma cutter.

So far I am not displeased. For tweeking and testing we used 4ft long by 4 inch wide metal that we had laying around. One thing that gave us problems using these is that the slag builds up and the torch tends to drag the whole piece instead of cutting. Don't know if this is normal, and if claming of narrow pieces is suggested.

A problem that I am having, and it might sound silly, is I am looking for some dxfs of "real" stuff. NO OFFENCE INTENDED! We'll be cutting our share of art and signs, etc... I just don't feel like taking the time to build something more practicle in Autocad and am having trouble finding a "One Sheet" sheet metal projetc to throw into the PC, zap out on the Torchmate, and hold up to the admin as "TaDa" material.

That having been said, The Civil Engineering School is very interestd for it's Spring Steel Bridge Contest.

Anyway, That's where we're at. A lot of anxious tudents , who have no idea what a learning curve is, so I am the Learning Curve Buffer,

Quote Originally Posted by nearboston View Post