586,071 active members*
3,792 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

High Pressure system veterans

Hello

I am new to using high pressure systems and have a few questions about them and their utilization.

- From what I know, you are to direct the HP lines towards the chip, not the cutting edge, and let the regular flood lines flood the cutting edge. However, the HP seems to just blast in there and affects the actual flood, is this true?

- For directing the lines are there any tips and tricks? I try to "follow" the line to see where the HP oil will be directed, but its not a sure thing and I feel I am more so guessing where the oil will be as its pretty hard to actually see where the streams are directed (the window becomes blocked with oil and you can no longer see, and I dare not attempt to keep the door open!)

- Ive noticed aeration in my oil. After a few cycles using the HP system @800-1000psi (im breaking 304ss) my overall flood flow rate seems to drop, the flow meter doesnt show any different, but I notice a change in color and the flow rate, as after a few cycles my carefully placed lines arent getting oil to the tools anymore.

I've contacted my oil rep and will be looking into a different type as I am sure that is the likely cause of my issues.

If anyone would be willing to share any knowledge it would be much appreciated. I am not looking for all your secrets, just some general stuff as there does not seem to be much information on the net regarding this kind of stuff (Ive searched the forums too).

Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by SirDenisNayland View Post
    - From what I know, you are to direct the HP lines towards the chip, not the cutting edge, and let the regular flood lines flood the cutting edge. However, the HP seems to just blast in there and affects the actual flood, is this true?

The perfect place for the HP stream to be is right ontop of the insert.