586,201 active members*
4,106 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

LED indicator

Hello,
    My name is Neri while I am not a completely clueless in electronics I have some beginner level knowledge. I would like to have an LED indicator driven from the STEP output of my CNC controller so I will have visual feedback of axis movement I have tried some NE555 pulseting logic probe based circuites while they worked to some extand I never got enough lumination (brightness) from the LED and the results were far from what I needed. Then I have tried some Opamps circuites but with no success. The STEP port reading is averaging 0.25V fluctuating, the DIRECTION port reading is 4.85V
    I was wondering if anyone has an idea or schematics that can accomplish this task, it should support 3 LEDs from 3 different pulse input(X, Y, Z axis) I just want the LED to detect the pulse
    Please help

Quote Originally Posted by neric View Post
    I would like to have an LED indicator driven from the STEP output of my CNC controller so I will have visual feedback of axis movement I have tried some NE555 pulseting logic probe based circuites while they worked to some extand I never got enough lumination (brightness) from the LED and the results were far from what I needed.
    I suspect the pulse rate is too fast for the LED to indicate usefully that is why they are not illuminating as pulses.
    I more ideal way is a simple rate counter in the form of a digital display.
    What is the reason you want to know the pulse rate?
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Thank for the reply Al