586,395 active members*
2,893 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > cnc jeweler/designer needs advice and help

cnc jeweler/designer needs advice and help

I am new to cnc but have been a bench jeweler making hand made wax models since 1989 .I bought the Roland jwx 30 because it was touted as easy and made for the jeweler as opposed to a machine you needed to adapt.My problem is this,I cannot find clear information ,if it exists,in creating jewelry and small scale sculpture on this or any other small machine.I would love to find some definitive information on feed rates,cutting depths for different bits and why without wasting any more time or wax and not damaging my machine.I also would love to know cutting strategies for undercut pieces or deep cut pieces where a bit might have trouble reaching,etc.Any materials,books,online classes that pertain to jewelry or problems dealing with intricate pieces.I will be in your debt and if youre in the area i would buy you a steak dinner with top shelf liquor LOL!Just saying i will be very relieved to find some info...thanks Rich Berman

It sounds like you've got a nice machine

The JWX-30 is capable of fast and accurate carving in wax and other soft materials, and it comes with a very capable suite of software.

Quote Originally Posted by rbreman88125 View Post
    I am new to cnc but have been a bench jeweler making hand made wax models since 1989 .

[That should be a big help; some people with no understanding of what good jewelry models entail design things in CAD that don't really work in the real world.]