586,060 active members*
4,160 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Chinese Spindle Stalling

I have been using one of these Chinese spindles for a few months. So far I am quite happy with it, but used it only on my old flimsy router that could not go very fast anyway.

Now I moved it to my new DIY build that can run higher feed rates but now I found the spindle limits. I used a 1/4" upcut spiral (not exactly new) and ran a full slot at 80ipm 0.1" deep though bamboo plywood (about as hard as Hickory or Padauk) at 20,000rpm and the spindle bogged down, finally stalled.

I ordered the spindle as 0.8kW (65mm diameterx160mm long) but got one that is 65mmx210mm long and I found spindles of that size rated somewhere else with 1.5kW (which is also what the VFD is rated). So I am not really sure if I have the 0.8 or 1.5kW version.

I just want to get an opinion if that is to be expected for such a spindle and if I should better upgrade to a bigger one if I want to make full use of my new machine. Or can it be that some VFD settings are not optimal? Or maybe just get a fresh end mill (although the cut is clean, not fuzzy and not burnt)?

Thanks, JB

Quote Originally Posted by JerryBurks View Post
    I have been using one of these Chinese spindles for a few months. So far I am quite happy with it, but used it only on my old flimsy router that could not go very fast anyway.

Now I moved it to my new DIY build that can run higher feed rates but now I found the spindle limits. I used a 1/4" upcut spiral (not exactly new) and ran a full slot at 80ipm 0.1" deep though bamboo plywood (about as hard as Hickory or Padauk) at 20,000rpm and the spindle bogged down, finally stalled.

I ordered the spindle as 0.8kW (65mm diameterx160mm long) but got one that is 65mmx210mm long and I found spindles of that size rated somewhere else with 1.5kW (which is also what the VFD is rated). So I am not really sure if I have the 0.8 or 1.5kW version.