586,094 active members*
3,861 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

DIY Resources, Books, Websites, Anything!

Well this is my first post here, I've been creeping around a little bit and there don't seem to be many (or any...) sticky threads for newbies. Ive looked around on the internet too and have come across some info, but I want a whole lot more.

As the title states, I need resources to learn about this stuff. Can anybody recommend some books, websites, good blogs etc? I have a whole lot of newbie questions that I need answered.

Some more background info, feel free to comment:

I am a senior mechanical engineering student, and I am planning on building a CNC Mill with some money that I will be getting for graduation gifts, the job I (hopefully) will be getting, savings ETC. A couple things of note. I would like this to be a DIY project because I believe it will be fun, and I want to learn a lot. I do not expect to save money by doing this by myself, however that would always be a welcome bonus. As this is the case, I am not looking to simply buy a manual CNC machine retrofit it with CNC hardware.

I have been checking out various things online and found this guys channel on youtube:

Simpsons36's Channel - YouTube

I really admire his work. I understand that I should probably start with a simple 3 axis machine and go from there, but I really like all of the neat stuff he came up with such as his fourth axis (which he can use as a lathe...), trunnion table, etc.

Some things I am looking for:

-Ability to do steel.
    -At least 18" x 6" x 4" travel.
    -I would like the ability to grind sharp edges. (possibly upgrade to this capability eventually)
    -Machine must run on household 120v AC without blowing a 15a breaker.
    -Machine must be able to be broken down for moving, without any individual parts that weigh more than ~250lbs.

-Thanks!

"Machine must run on household 120v AC without blowing a 15a breaker."