586,035 active members*
3,716 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Chip removal from deep pockets?

Chip removal from deep pockets?

I am working on a project that requires me to mill out a pocket 1.75" deep. My benchtop mill has a flood cooling system on it, no compressed air. What is the best option for removing the chips from the deep pocket?

I'll be taking 0.08 deep steps running at 24 ipm.

id use a shopvac with one of those small attachments that they make for car detailing.

The flood isnt clearing it out? What kind of flow are you running?

First, I'm a rookie here and just learning how to use this mini-mill. I have not started cutting the part yet, so I don't know if the flood will work. I just built the closed loop flood system using a fish pond fountain pump from Lowe's. What I'm looking for is some advice on what works and what doesn't.

If I vacuum the chips, it will draw all my coolant into the shop vac.

Quote Originally Posted by cce1911 View Post
    First, I'm a rookie here and just learning how to use this mini-mill. I have not started cutting the part yet, so I don't know if the flood will work. I just built the closed loop flood system using a fish pond fountain pump from Lowe's. What I'm looking for is some advice on what works and what doesn't.

If I vacuum the chips, it will draw all my coolant into the shop vac.