586,069 active members*
3,410 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > What's the best way to go about learning MC X4?

What's the best way to go about learning MC X4?

Hello to all:

I'm excited; I now have access to someone's seat of MasterCam X4 and the use of his small 5 axis mill. I want to start machining small wooden toys/blocks. What is the best way to go about learning this particular release of MasterCAM?

I have the software design side of things covered; I am an AuotCad expert, and some of my designs (in Solidworks) are very complex, and I'm pretty sure could not be done on a 3 axis machine; I'd have to keep removing my material from the bed, re-positioning, etc....The machine I have access to is a 3 axis design with a trunnion table/rotary table mounted on the bed. I've seen someone cut small, intricate wooden jewelry boxes on a Taig mill (he uses free-open source software with very poor documentation/high learning curve), so I know it is physically possible...I myself just need to learn MasterCAM now.

I have seen several books for sale on eBay, etc...is there any one book that I should definitely start with?

That I am, considering I thought I was in the Haas section.
    what does having to do with the Haas section have to with this. Just wondering here Delw that was a little off the wall for you. I have cut allot of wood on Haas from 3axis to 5 axis from metal to foam to wood. with the wood, plastics and foam there is allot of cleaning and I suggest if you are cutting dry that you cover the bottom of the machine to keep dust out of the coolant tanks.
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

Quote Originally Posted by cadcam View Post