586,408 active members*
2,931 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 7 123

150w LC1512 from G. Weike - Build Thread

The purpose of this thread is to document my entire experience purchasing a laser from China, as it happens, with the goal of (hopefully!) making the process a little easier for the next person.

So here goes...

Background:
    I own and operate an acrylic fabrication business... specifically products related to aquariums and aquarium filtration (NextReef Systems). We operate a CNC router, a CO2 laser from Universal, and a bunch of other equipment, and I also have a computer/engineering background... I have a high degree of familiarity with CNC and controllers.

I love our existing ULS laser, and if cost were no object, I'd purchase another one without hesitation. However, we need a machine in the 100-150w range, with a bed of at least 24x48 - their PLS range of machines fit the bill, but I'd be looking at about $65,000+ for one. The economics on that simply don't work for us...

Over the last year or so, I've been closely watching some of the American companies that bring in and support laser machines from China. I've also been working with a friend that scratch built a 4x8 machine from Chinese parts. One of my biggest complaints with the Chinese machines has always been the software and support, and a couple of these places have actually created their own controllers and software... and even offer retrofit kits.

So this is the plan... find the best machine I can to import, and set my expectations realistically. I expect to receive a machine that works, but I also expect it to have some quirks, and probably need to be tuned and dialed in. I expect that I will need to modify or improve some things, and I've budgeted for a replacement controller and software if I can't work with what's included. Worst case scenario is that I will have to rebuild a substantial part of the machine.

Search:
    I posted this thread about a month ago: