586,080 active members*
3,743 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

New Build Questions

I need a 4x4 or 4x6 sized plasma cutting water table system and over the last week have found most of the answers to my question here at cnczone. Now I have some questions that only experience can answer and I know that different choices can be made to satisfy performance or cost. I'm making decisions based on cost. I have recently built a stepper motor driven 3D printer and understand the basics. I hope this is where I can ask questions and document my progress to getting a cutting table working and save a fair bit of money building a table on my own.

It seems I need to settle on a number of choices:

1. What hardware drives the table- motors and controllers?
    2. What type of linear rails and glides or rollers will I use?
    3. Do I need a 4 th axis for torch lift... why do some cnc cutting tables use 2 motors- 1 for thicker stock and another for thc?
    4. I use Linux for everything and is EMC2 trouble free for plasma cutting?

My current Jeep build is on hold until I get my table up and running, so I'm motivated!

Thanks for any ideas and advice.

Quote Originally Posted by jeepsterjc View Post
    It seems I need to settle on a number of choices:

1. What hardware drives the table- motors and controllers?
    2. What type of linear rails and glides or rollers will I use?
    3. Do I need a 4 th axis for torch lift... why do some cnc cutting tables use 2 motors- 1 for thicker stock and another for thc?
    4. I use Linux for everything and is EMC2 trouble free for plasma cutting?

My current Jeep build is on hold until I get my table up and running, so I'm motivated!

Thanks for any ideas and advice.
    One of the simplest choices for hardware for a really nice matched up system with great support is www.candcnc.com For small to mid size machines look for the dragon cut series.