586,103 active members*
3,649 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Engraving Tool Advise

Hi All,

I'm looking for recommendations for a tool bit for some simple engraving, such as a small brass nameplate, etc. I have no experience with engraving, except that today I did a 1 X 2 inch brass plate using a simple 3/8" 60 degree Vee cutter and the Mach3 Write Wizard. It seemed to come out fine, but I would think there would be better cutter choices.

I don't have a speeder, so I am trying to use the 5K spindle speed on my 1100. Should I look for a cutter with a tip radius or a straight Vee? If a radius, what might be appropriate for letters approximately .2" - .3" in height? A lot if the cheaper cutters I see on eBay appear to have a "D" bit design, would these need a higher rpm than my spindle?

Thanks for any help you might offer.
    Terry

I used a D profile cutter, 15 degree angle, with a 0.020" tip. This is in my Tormach 1100.

I don't remember the brand. I ordered it from MSC.

It works just fine, although I'm sure it would be faster if I had the speeder, a second spindle, or a 770.

Frederic

I'm using a Melin .125 mill/drill and works great for what I need. However it's really slow if you're running a 1100 without a speeder.

Enco - Guaranteed Lowest Prices on Machinery, Measuring Tools, Cutting Tools and Shop Supplies

TXFred - I'd like to see what you're using, have any pics up ?

A normal text height to line width ratio is 7:1. So with 0.2 to 0.3 text height you have a text width of 0.030" to 0.040. In my opinion 5,000 rpm is to slow to run a conventional end-mill at that diameter so the best is still the single lip conical engraving cutter, 60 degree for max strength. A 60 degree conical engraving cutter with a 0.010" tip would need a depth of cut of about 0.016" to give you a 0.03" text line width. To check the calcs you have to do some Trig.