586,096 active members*
3,112 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Booting Issues

Hello, My name is Chad and i'm having a serious problem with the Mazak Super Turbo-X510 Mark II, 4K Watt CNC Laser machine i have been operating for almost 2 years now. Im not sure if i'm using the right terms but i will do my best to explain my issue.

Normally, after pressing the Power On Button on the machine when i start the machine in the morning, on the preview screen (the screen on the machine itself) you would see it start to boot up like any computer does. It continues to boot up until it gets to the Mazatrol "Control" screen, the main screen you use to operate the machine. However, the booting process is stopping at what appears to be some from of a Linux Operating System and does not boot up the Mazatrol program/file/control screen. Now, i am not sure if its as simple as finding the program on Linux and starting it just like you would a program on Windows. I don't know if its that simple or if there is something else going on here, but again... i am stumped.

I called Mazak and they suggested to hold down the "ctrl+d" keys while the machine is booting up, but that has done nothing so far. They said if that did not work that its probably a bad hard drive and i would need to place a work order to have it replaced, which was estimated to be somewhere around 5,000 dollars to have done. I can't fathom it being an issue with the hard-drive though, because i can still access files (Through the Linux OS) that are on the hard-drive. But that's why i am here, anyone have any suggestions or advice?

Thank you in advance.

More info

Here's some more details on my issue.